Old dog, new tricks?

Standard

Bailey 8 13

We’re making way with our old dog, teaching him a couple new tricks. Bailey was estimated to be around 5 years old when we found him in the animal shelter last year before Halloween, but since then his vet has guessed he’s around 3. I named him after George Bailey from It’s a Wonderful Life, one of my favorite movies of all time. He’s cute as a button too, as you can see from those big eyes and that jaunty curve on one side of his mouth. He’s sweet with my 2-year-old grandson and puts up with the four cats. Yep, four cats! But back to new tricks.

I admit I tend to project on Bailey. Is he afraid we’ll leave him? Is he worried he’ll get left somewhere again? I waited months and months before daring to go on a trip that would require him to be boarded. Yeah, I tend to obsess. Now that it’s been close to a year, I’m trying to get him to sleep in his crate at night. Yay, good times. He does goes in, after trying to hide under the kitchen table, the couch, anywhere. And he’ll hang out quietly for a while. Then he’ll start what sounds like he’s trying to dig his way out. He’s a little thing and seems to only wake me up. Lucky me, right? Earplugs are just lovely, by the way.

Anyway, we’re making progress. Slowly, but there it is. So do you have any tricks to share? Have you crate-trained an older dog yourself?

Leave a Reply

