Old Dog, New Tricks Update

Standard

So here’s an update on teaching our old dog new tricks. Bailey doesn’t like going into his crate when we go out, but if we leave him free range he tends to nervous pee in my office. I refuse to take that as a sign of anything more than evidence that he misses me!

Beseeching Bailey

Beseeching Bailey

Now he does go willingly into his crate for sleep at night. I try to walk him before bedtime, usually around 10:30 or so. And he sleeps the whole night without a peep! No more scratching like a tiny fiend to get out of the crate or crying and whimpering mournfully. At night, anyway. But it seems “morning” comes quite early now.

He had been adding to his nighttime, usually barking to get up around 5 or 5:30 am. Now, I’m not a fan of getting up that early but I do. I get up and take him out for walkies and make sure he makes a “deposit.” Then I give him his breakfast and he’s good to stay out of his crate while I try to get another couple of hours of sleep. But here’s the thing. His wake-up time gets really early every couple of days. There doesn’t seem to be any sort of pattern, or any way to figure out what I might have done wrong.

Saturday morning he got up at 3:30. 3:30! My gosh, that’s early! I did my thing with him. Walked him around for what felt like forever with absolutely no light peeping over the eastern horizon. I even fed him when we returned to the house. Got another couple of hours of sleep, too. But, man. 3:30?

This morning’s wake-up was around 5 am. Not great but better than 3:30 We change the clocks on November 3rd this year. Falling back, which I usually like since it means I get to sleep a little longer. But, with Bailey?

Maybe he’ll get better by then. It’s more than a month away, right? Any suggestions to help him along?

2 thoughts on “Old Dog, New Tricks Update

  1. Debra Ann Fisk

    Is there a reason he doesn’t sleep in the bed with you? My dog Midas was the same way, but once he started sleeping with me he started sleeping in late. I’d get up and he’d stay in bed. Maybe he wants attention and to cuddle.

Leave a Reply

