Accidental Dog Training!

Standard

Well, I’ve just experienced accidental dog training. I have to say, it works for me!

"New Tricks" Bailey

“New Tricks” Bailey

We traveled up north right after Christmas to visit family, all of us but my son-in-law. He was in charge of the house and the pets while we were gone. He loves Bailey but he’s always the first to tell me I coddle him. I know, I know. I still worry that Bailey was abandoned at the shelter where we found him and project more angst on him than any little dog could have. So I’ve been walking him to do his business. Even at 5:30 in the morning. And when I let him outside, I step out there with him to make sure he goes. What?? Yes, that’s right!

So while we were up north, my SIL wasn’t going to jump through those hoops. And, as luck would have it, we got snowed in and ended up spending four more days up there. By the time I got home, there was a new sheriff in town.

To start, I noticed Bailey would stare at me while I was working in my office. I figured out that he was telling me he wanted to go outside. Telling me! Whoa. I still insisted on stepping out onto the patio with him, until it got really cold out. For Florida, anyway. I began to just tap on the slider and point toward the grass and he would go. All his business. Man!

I’ve learned to let go (for the most part) and let Bailey have a little space. I know I worry less about him now, and that’s a good thing.

Maybe Bailey isn’t the only one learning new tricks!

3 thoughts on “Accidental Dog Training!

  1. It is truly amazing that dogs train us, just as efficiently as we train them… only WE don’t know we are the ones being trained.

    We have a bell on our door for Wall-E to ring for when he needs to go outside. You just have to read the signs of whether they REALLY need to go outside to go potty, or if they want to go out to WOOF at things.

Leave a Reply

