Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah!

Standard

Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah! Sorry, but Disney is still firmly in my head. I ran the Inaugural Minnie 10K in the Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend and it was an absolute blast. I got into it, too. Wore a costume and everything.

Minnie Run

Minnie Run

My daughter and I wore matching tutus, and WDW is most likely  the only place where I didn’t feel one bit out of place doing that. I spotted runners dressed up as all kinds of characters. I saw an adorable couple dressed as Aladdin and Jasmine, although why they stopped just short of the finish line to take a picture is beyond me. I saw several Minnies, of course. And her pals Donald, Mickey and Goofy. I did see some characters I hadn’t expected. One guy was very nicely turned out as Kuzco from The Emperor’s New Groove! And, after the run while enjoying a post-race banana, I spied a guy with a very ambitious costume. He towered over the other finishers dressed as Kevin the bird from Up. Cool, right?

I did it!

I did it!

But I did it. No, it wasn’t the farthest distance I’ve run but if you’ve ever run with 9000 other people through a theme park you’d get why I’m so proud. And check out that bling. What a gorgeous finisher’s medal! My daughter ran the Dopey challenge and rocked it, by the way! That’s all four races over the weekend. I’m so proud of her, too.

So what’s up next? I’m running a 10-miler sponsored and themed by Medieval Times! Oh, expect great pictures from this one. Finishers get a crown!

Leave a Reply

